Whole 30 Day 2 and ouch! my head…

The Whole 30 progresses and I am definitely on track for the official timeline, which says that days 2 and 3 are ‘The Hangover’.

Many Whole30ers report headaches, fatigue, and general malaise during this part of the program. This, my friends, is completely normal. Your body is working its way through a whole host of junk it stored from the foods (or food-like-products) you used to eat. This process lasts a day for some folks, but for others it can take a few days longer. Relax, drink a lot of water, and keep making good choices.

Blimey, they’re not wrong. I got a bit of headache towards the end of day 1, but it was the afternoon of day 2 where it really hit, and I’m talking proper painful migraine-type stuff. (Could be being exacerbated by the aforementioned PMS – just my luck to get a double whammy of ouch.)

This morning (day 3) it’s still there – I can manage as long as I don’t move too much, so it’s a sofa day today (with Sherlock for company). I really hope this will be over by tomorrow.

In terms of food, day 2 had a much better start with fried up red peppers and mushrooms with two scrambled eggs, and lunch was a helping of chocolate chili and a big spinach salad.

Chocolate chili and spinach salad

Chocolate chili and spinach salad

For dinner, I roasted a pork shoulder in the oven according to Jamie Oliver. It worked out really well, and there’s loads of meat left over – I’ve frozen half, and the other half is waiting to be consumed later in the week. I have to confess to struggling to finish my evening meal – I’ve been giving myself decent sized portions at all three meals to make sure I’m getting enough calories, and I think I might have overdone it a bit. It might also be that I’m eating more protein than I’m used to. Either way, I haven’t fallen off the bandwagon yet, and I’m sincerely hoping more positive changes will start appearing soon.

I still miss tea though.

Leave a Reply

