Why blog?

This isn’t the first blog I’ve started. Like many of my computer-savvy generation, I’ve had an online presence for a long time, and I’ve been reading blogs since they first arrived on the internet scene. 

My previous blogging attempts have been patchy, for one reason – there was never a good focus for what I wanted to achieve with my blog. I thought long and hard about whether it was worth starting another one, but here I am. (And no – I won’t be subjecting anyone to my previous efforts!)

Why? Two main reasons: the first being accountability. The work that I envision for myself over the coming months as I embark on the various areas that make up Project Renaissance isn’t going to be easy, and I know I’m going to feel a lot of resistance to some of it. I’m committing to a posting schedule (three times a week, and no less, though maybe more) and I hope that will keep me going on this path. 

Secondly, I want a chronicle of this journey. I want a place to write about my thoughts, because writing helps me think. I want a place to put all the ideas, questions, research, experiments and conclusions I find. And I want to talk to other people interested in similar things. 

Last of all, this blog is in itself one part of my project. I’ve always admired diarists, letter writers, thinkers who have chronicled their journeys. I’m interested in the practice of writing as a tool for self-knowledge, and I want to experiment with what stretching myself and committing myself can do for me. 

Here’s to keeping to a schedule, hopefully providing some interesting content, and some good conversations!

Leave a Reply

